Mark Zuckerberg has announced a new update for the popular Messenger. This affects the self-erasing messages.
Whatsapp introduces a new option for self-deleting messages.
These can now be set by default for new chats.
Up until now, this had to be set up separately for each chat.
That's what it's about
Whatsapp has revised the self-deleting messages.
With a new update, it can be specified that all messages are in new chats will be automatically deleted.
Previously you had to set this individually for each chat.
Last year Whatsapp introduced the self-erasing messages for the first time. Since then, it has been possible to specify in Messenger that certain messages, pictures or videos automatically disappear after a certain period of time. This can be useful if sensitive information such as passwords, bank accounts or suggestive pictures are sent that you do not want to be seen in the chat history for eternity.
Now Whatsapp has revised this function, as the Meta boss (formerly known as Facebook) Mark Zuckerberg announced in a Facebook post. “Today we are launching a new option for self-deleting messages, with which you can specify that all new chats disappear after 24 hours, 7 days or 90 days by default. Not all messages have to be visible forever », it says there.
Different time periods
In addition, Zuckerberg shares a screenshot of a WhatsApp chat with his wife. You can see the note on it: «You have activated self-deleting messages. After they have been sent, all new messages remain in this chat for 24 hours and then disappear again. »
If you want to set up the self-deleting messages for your Whatsapp account, you can do this in the privacy settings of your profile as soon as the new update is installed. This new option is automatically applied to all new chats and no longer has to be set individually for each chat. Even with new group chats, users can specify that the messages delete themselves after a certain period of time.
As can be read from the post from Zuckerberg, it will now also be possible to define two further periods for the deletion of the messages. Previously, this was automatically set to seven days. Users can now also choose between 24 hours and 90 days. As before, however, you should be careful: Whatsapp does not inform the sender of a self-deleting message if the recipient takes a screenshot of the message or the picture.
If you use the digital push button If you subscribe to Push, you will be informed about news and rumors from the world of Whatsapp, Snapchat, Instagram, Samsung, Apple and Co. You will also be the first to receive warnings about viruses, Trojans, phishing attacks and ransomware. There are also tricks to get more out of your digital devices.
How it works: Install the latest version of the 20-minute app. At the bottom right, tap on «Cockpit», then «Settings» and finally on «Push notifications». Under “Topics”, tap “Digital” – et voilà!
My 20 Minuten
As a member, you become part of the 20-Minuten community and benefit from great benefits and exclusive competitions every day!